Author: Lima 2019 press release Lima, 23 August 2019


The traditional Para athlete parade was led by their best representatives. Peruvian Para athlete Angélica Espinoza carried the Peruvian flag.

Abanderada Perú

At the beginning of the ceremony, the Peruvian flag was carried by the gold medalists of the Lima 2019 Pan American Games, surfer Daniella Rosas and fronton player Kevin Martinez.

The traditional parade of the delegations participating in the Lima 2019 Parapan American Games was led by the main representatives of the countries competing in the sixth edition of the event, inaugurated today at the National Stadium.

The Peruvian delegation received the most applause, like at the Pan American Games, led by Para taekwondo fighter Angélica Espinoza. She is one of the main contenders to win medals at the Parapan American Games, which began this past Thursday.

Among the main flagbearers were Gustavo “Gusti” Fernández, first in the wheelchair tennis world ranking and winner of three Grand Slams contested this year, who led the Argentinian team.

The flagbearer for the United States was Katie Holloway, gold medalist in the Rio 2016 and Beijing 2008 Paralympic Games and silver medalist in London 2012 in sitting volleyball. Costa Rica’s flagbearer was Para swimmer Camila Haase.

Carrying Brazil’s flag was the world’s best goalball player, Leomon Moreno da Silva, who led a delegation that has come to win first place like they did in Rio 2007, Guadalajara 2011 and Toronto 2015.

The flagbearer for Mexico was judoka Eduardo Ávila, who will compete in the 81 kg category. His track record includes a gold medal in the Rio 2007, Guadalajara 2011 and Toronto 2015 Parapan American Games, as well as a gold medal in the Beijing 2008 and Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.

The Colombian leader was Alejandro Perea, one of the best Para cyclists in the world and current world champion. He will compete in the Para cycling track individual time trial and pursuit events and in the Para cycling road sprint and time trial events.


In the parade, Darwin Castro, an athlete with visual impairment, carried the Ecuadorian flag. He competes in the 1500- and 5000-meter events alongside his guide, Sebastián Rosero, who won the bronze medal in 5000 meters at Toronto 2015.

Chile’s flagbearer was Para swimmer Alberto Abarza, who won the National Sports Award of Chile and has five Parapan American records in 50, 100 and 200 meters freestyle and in 50 and 100 meters backstroke. He is ranked first in the Para swimming World Series.

Para swimmer Javier Hernández is the flagbearer for Puerto Rico, while Para badminton player Raúl Anguiano led the Guatemalan delegation. Akira López, who will compete in 100 meters, was chosen as the leader of the delegation of Nicaragua.

Meanwhile, Para athlete Getrudis Ortega was tasked with leading Panama in the parade.  The Para athletics multi-medalist, Omara Durand, was chosen as flagbearer for Cuba. She is considered the fastest woman in the Paralympic world, surpassing the 12-second barrier in 100 meters.

Additionally, the other flagbearers were Elliott Loonstra from Aruba (Para taekwondo), Sean Cooke from Barbados (Para athletics, Steve Wilson from Bermuda (boccia), Stephanie Chan from Canada (Para table tennis), Herbert Aceituno from El Salvador (Para powerlifting), Gibran Sarfaraz from Guyana (Para table tennis), Lounevie Pierre from Hait (Para athletics), Carlos Velásquez from Honduras (Para athletics).

Finally, the following were also flagbearers: Chadwick Campbell from Jamaica (Para athletics), Melissa Nair Tillner Galeano from Paraguay (Para athletics), José Manuel Abud from the Dominican Republic (Para powerlifting), John Jaldini from Saint Vincent and the Grenadines (Para swimming), Chivaro Belfort from Suriname (Para athletics), Nyoshia Cain-Claxton from Trinidad and Tobago (Para athletics), Carmelo Milán from Uruguay (Para shooting) and Belkys Mota from Venezuela (Para swimming).