Author: Lima 2019 press release Lima, 9 October 2019


Tomorrow Sunday, the 1st National Hockey Championship will take place at the Villa María del Triunfo Sports Center. Entrance is free.

Mañana domingo se inicia el I Campeonato Nacional en el Complejo Deportivo Villa María del Triunfo. El ingreso es gratuito para el público.

Sports do not stop. Thanks to the Pan American and Parapan American Games, sports activities have witnessed a re-birth, even more so with the first-level facilities now available. This is why competitions will start at the venues that hosted the successful Lima 2019 Games.

This Sunday, a historic day will take place at the Villa María del Triunfo Sports Center, where an official competition will be held for the first time after the Lima 2019 Games. It will also be the opening of the National Field Hockey Championship, which will gather nine Peruvian clubs in an unprecedented event.

Competition will take place in the two fields built at the Villa María del Triunfo Sports Center, which will reopen its doors for this event. Spectators will be able to enjoy the matches and discover the great infrastructure built for Lima 2019. 

It will be an unprecedented event for this sport, as this is the first hockey competition to be held in Peru; this is a clear example of the sports legacy left by Lima 2019, which included 39 sports and 61 disciplines in the first Pan American Games ever held in Peru.

The national tournament will gather four women’s and five men’s teams. The women's teams will be: San Silvestre Sport, Colegio Mater Admirábilis, OMA and Lima Cricket. The men’s teams will be: OMA, Lions, Libardoni, Lima Cricket and Santa María Sport.

This Sunday's matches will start at 09:00 in the main field of the Hockey Stadium at Villa María del Triunfo, with the match between San Silvestre Sport vs. Mater Admirábilis (women’s). It will be followed by the match between OMA vs. Lima Cricket (men’s) and Lima Cricket vs. OMA (women’s). In Pitch 2, the match between Santa María Sport vs. Lions (men’s) will start at 12:00.