Ciclismo; Velódromo; Videna; Juegos Panamericanos; LIma 2019 Author: Lima 2019 press release Lima, 21 October 2019


The stage, which was a venue for the Lima 2019 Pan American and Parapan American Games, hosted the Cycling National Championship.

El escenario, que fue sede en los Juegos Panamericanos y Parapanamericanos Lima 2019, recibió el Campeonato Nacional de Ciclismo.

Considered one of the best stages for cycling in the continent, the remodeled velodrome of the National Sports Village (VIDENA) saw some sports action again after the end of the Pan American and Parapan American Games.

During the weekend, the venue that hosted the best cyclists and Para cyclists of the Americas at Lima 2019, welcomed the national athletes competing in the National Cycling Championship. For many, this was their first experience at a stadium in top competition conditions, as well as one approved by the Union Cycliste Internationale.

The competitions were held on Saturday 12 and Sunday 13, both for men’s and women’s, in the Elite, Junior and U-17 categories. Lima 2019 sports equipment and material were used to test the speed, skills, dexterity and stamina of the athletes.

The best athletes from Arequipa, Pisco, Huancayo and Lima participated in the National Championship, competing in keirin, speed, individual pursuit, scratch, kilometer time trial, 500 m time trial and omnium events.

Among the main winners were Francis Cachique in kilometer time trial, and Rubén Salinas and Aurelio Saldaña in the elite category. Furthermore, Maximiliano Coila from Arequipa won the junior event, followed by Leonardo Ramos and Sebastián Corrales. Coila also won in scratch, escorted by Jorge García and Sebastián Corrales. In the same event but U-17, Axel Castro was the champion and he also won the title in the point race.

In the U-17 500 m time trial event, Walter Pasache from Pisco won, followed by Axel Castro and Dalmiro Mamani from Arequipa. The champion in the women’s category was Madeley Gálvez from Pisco, escorted by Luz Loayza and Betsabet Coila. Madeley Gálvez also placed first in U-17 scratch.

In keirin, elite category, Francis Cachique was the winner, while Maximiliano Coila won in the Junior category. The individual pursuit competition was very exciting and Hugo Ruiz won, escorted by Alonso Gamero and André Gonzales, and Bill Toscano won in the junior category.

The second session was held on Sunday, in which Hugo Ruiz stood out in the omnium Elite category results, escorted by Alonso Gamero and Alaín Quispe. In the speed final (Elite), the winner was Francis Cachique, while Leonardo Ramos from Paracas won in the junior category. The U-17 men’s and women’s titles were awarded to Axel Castro and Madeley Gálvez, respectively.


The velodrome has a 250-meter track. The track is made of African wood and, thanks to the remodeling, it now has a ceiling that turns it into an indoor stage.

It has capacity for 2300 spectators and the track is seven meters wide. It has cambers (elevation at curves), with a 42-degree angle.

The velodrome has changing rooms and showers, a common area for athletes, a judges’ area, first aid stations for athletes and spectators, among its main features.